Classified as a national monument, King Dinis' Wall is the only known remnant of Lisbon's medieval wall, which can be visited and understood through an Interpretation Centre.
The exhibition is located in the crypt of the former Church of S. Julião. It invites the visitor to discover objects, sounds and images that characterised the Tejo waterfront during the Roman, medieval and modern times.
A journey of more than 1,000 years through Lisbon’s history.
At the end of the 13th century, Lisbon was an important economic and trade centre, subject to sea attack. To defend citizens and merchandise, King Dinis ordered a city wall to be built along the waterfront.
The construction of King Ferdinand's Wall eventually led to the abandonment of King Dinis’ Wall, which was used for around 75 years. In its shadow, everyday life and the bustle of the kingdom's capital carried on.
Over the centuries, many buildings made use of this structure's strength to support their walls, including the Ribeira Royal Palace built by King Manuel at the time of the Discoveries.
In 1755, the Lisbon Earthquake almost ruined the structure, and it remained buried for over 250 years. In 2010, the monument saw the light of day again with the archaeological excavations carried out during the renovation of Banco de Portugal's head office.